Archive for May, 2011

A Little Bragging As The School Year Ends

May 24, 2011 Leave a comment

Diana Hadley

I’m probably about to make a big mistake on purpose—but I have a good reason.

I’m going to brag about some of our advisers who have been recognized for excellence by their schools this spring with the hunch that I will omit some who haven’t been reported. I hope this blog will encourage others to let me know of other adviser honors so that I can brag about even more of our people. (It’s hard to cover a state full of talented, hard-working but humble people adequately.) Here is what I know from websites and friends of the award-winners:

Jim Streisel, Carmel High School, was named Carmel Clay Schools Teacher of the Year May 9. Jim has taught at Carmel 16 years, and he has been adviser of the HiLite since 2004.

Streisel is a valued instructor for workshops and conferences throughout the country. The HiLite has received the IHPSA Hoosier Star five times under his leadership.

Casey Tedrow was named Teacher of the Year for Center Grove High School.

She teaches English, Journalism, and Etymology and is a co-chair of the English department and co-chair of the professional development team. She has advised the Trojan yearbook for 11 years, and this year she co-advises CGTV.

Jim Lang, Floyd Central High School, received similar recognition with the Principal’s Tribute to Excellence award presented to one Floyd Central faculty member each year. In addition to advising publications at Floyd Central, Jim has been an IHSPA board member since 1998 and an Adviser of the Year. He has also been a member of task teams to develop the First Amendment Symposium and journalism/mass media standards for Indiana.

Three other advisers made the elite list of Lilly Teacher Creativity Award recipients for this year: Tom Gayda, publications adviser at North Central High School; Kathy McKinney, publications adviser at Kankakee Valley High School, and Kathleen Mills, newspaper adviser at Bloomington High School South.

When one considers the fact that some of our advisers have already received this kind of distinction in past years and that each school only has one or two publications advisers, the number who are recognized for excellence each year is noteworthy. Congratulations to all. IHSPA has a great team!

Editor’s Note: Although make-up days are going to delay the end of the year for many schools, others are drawing to a close within a few days. Due to the changes in publication dates for a significant number of newspapers, the new postmark deadline for newspaper Harvey entries is Friday, June 10. Information and entry forms can be downloaded from the IHPSA website. Anyone who has a student newspaper published after June 10 should contact me if they still want to enter the contest.

Categories: IHSPA News

Everyone Benefits When Our Students Benefit

May 5, 2011 Leave a comment

Diana Hadley

Although many educational institutions are eliminating programs and special projects, some Indiana groups have continued traditional journalism events with great success; and others have even initiated new ones. HSPA members and I have enjoyed being included in some of these special events this spring.

Something Old

Ball State University Journalism Department hosted its 56th annual J-Day in its traditional large format. As other conferences across the country report drops in attendance at frightening percentages, J-Day still drew a crowd of 1342 students and 78 advisers representing 68 schools.

J-Day occurs at a time when advisers and students can reflect on the past year and evaluate positives and negatives as they plan for the next year. Brian Hayes and his staff pack the day with a variety of sessions and contests that reward staff and individual success as they educate and inspire.

Something New

The NCAA offered a junior journalism workshop for middle school girls during the Women’s Basketball Final Four weekend at Conseco. The agenda included a lesson about news writing, the opportunity to participate in a national press conference and one-on-one collaboration with media professionals. It was a wonderful chance for young girls to meet successful young women, ask questions that interest middle school students and then tell those stories.

Both Old and New

Old charters were reinstated when Teresa White, Director of Indiana University’s High School Journalism Institute, hosted a Quill and Scroll induction ceremony for Indianapolis Public Schools on April 29.  The evening reception followed a workshop sponsored earlier in the day by the I.U. and IUPUI collegiate chapters of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Vanessa Shelton, Executive Director of the International Quill and Scroll Society, led the induction of new members that recognized the scholastic and journalistic accomplishments of six yearbook or newspaper students from Arsenal Technical High School and six yearbook, newspaper or broadcast students from Broad Ripple Media Magnet High School.

All Good

The effort of many professional individuals and groups help organizations committed to scholastic journalism succeed. Members of The Hoosier State Press Association, The Indianapolis Star, WfYI and WTHR provided sponsorships and additional financial support for the SPJ workshop and Quill and Scroll event. They are part of a larger group that supports student activities and projects throughout the year.

Everyone benefits when our students benefit. Thanks to everyone who contributes.

Categories: IHSPA News