Home > IHSPA News > Symposium Details, Congratulations Jumpstart New Year

Symposium Details, Congratulations Jumpstart New Year

Diana Hadley

I hope 2012 is off to a good start at all of your schools.

A new year provides several opportunities for your students to earn scholarships and awards from IHSPA, Hoosier State Press Association, Journalism Education Association, and the Society of Professional Journalists.

By the end of this week you should receive a mailing that includes information about this year’s First Amendment Symposium at the Indiana Statehouse March 7. However, this blog post also includes an 8-page PDF of the mailing (see first link).

Keynote speakers for the symposium are Frank LoMonte, Executive Director of the Student Press Law Center, and Charles McCormick, 2010 JEA National Administrator of the Year. IHSPA student officers also will share their personal experiences and thoughts about the First Amendment.

The event will also feature the announcement of the 2012 Indiana Student Journalist of the Year, and awards will be presented to students with the best First Amendment essays, projects and graphic designs.Please note the link in the first paragraph for information about all of the contests. Feel welcome to call me or send an email if you have questions about any of the details. (317.341.4360 or dhadley@franklincollege.edu)

As you will see, these are wonderful opportunities for your students. Just as one contest is posted for Super Bowl winners, it will be exciting to see new entries for other contests start to arrive.

Congratulations to Kim Green, Columbus North High School yearbook and newspaper adivser, who was just named JEA Yearbook Adviser of the Year.

Additional congratulations to the following sports writers and photographers whose work during first semester earned them credentials to attend Super Bowl Media Day:
•Sam Beishuizen, Crown Point High School
•Beatriz Costa-Lima, Munster High School
•Brooke Denny, Noblesville High School
•Peter Hood, Warren Cental High School
•Olivia Humphries, Greencastle High School
•Alex Kryah, Lawrence Central High School
•Haley Ward, Greenwood High School

Categories: IHSPA News
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: